S2/S3, Property or Poverty?

I’m going to discuss something serious here. No offense to the group of post-and-talk-“gak penting”-only, group where I am one of its biggest fans. Please. Even a superman needs a day off.

Indonesia might not a right place for Ph.D or even at many cases Master Degree holder. If we want to make a study on this case, I guess it could be an interesting topic. it’s not because Indonesia doesn’t have many Doctors or Masters. A lots! But why still there are people that generously advice you not to spend 1 or more years on grabbing this degree instead of exposing you to the advantages of taking this big gesture?

Big Gesture? well in other country that might give respect to their Master or Ph.D more than Indonesia does  (i’m not saying Indonesia is the only one and thus don’t live here, no), people might not think that taking Master and Ph. D really is a big gesture but a must. But for Indonesian Bachelor, it some times does, though not all of them. this is a phenomenon. why this could happen in Indonesia?

It was while I’m finishing my final exam. came to a serious talk with this person. He was for soo many times complaining on how hard is taking his research finished. I admitted that his topic quite “d*rk”-y all the way. there were options. one is to change the topic and second is to stick to the same topic, all topic are having their own difficulties anyway, right?  

one fact, that all  students would have acknowledged before taking the final exam, nothing on college such “easy” way of graduation. more over if you are on the white line. the question is if I were him, would I have been frighten to death and have changed my research into a brand new topic? would i have been dare enough to keep it going and risk all my 2 years of finishing the research and change the topic after anyway, since the topic is not converging to any conclusion?

other case, i have this friend, she’s 2 grade above me. she was taking Master. she complained all the time that it was hard for her to fine a job using her master certification. but then after she tried using her undergraduate degree, it was fine. watta waste… and this kind of complaining is not just from her. i have others friends having the same problem. except for those who actually had plan to stick in academia area. meaning here, to be lecturer.

back to the question: what on earth are you looking for that taking master will give the advantage?

  1. degree? what will a “degree” give you?
  2. money? what will “money” give you?
  3. knowledge? you think you wont get the knowledge if you’re not go back to campus? what will “knowledge” give?
  4. good reward and recognition? are you sure you will got it? what will “good reward and recognition” give you?
  5. prestige? what will “prestige” give you? a prestigious job?
  6. or experiencing to be somewhere new (if  the university is overseas). yay!

dont get me wrong. it is not finished yet. it would still be cont’d…

2 thoughts on “S2/S3, Property or Poverty?

  1. santi says:

    I guess it’s inspired by my email about Permanent Head Damage (PhD)…*GR Mode:ON*..

    Yup, Indonesia is not a heaven for PhD holder, but the country is much nicer to Master Degree since my Master-degree-holder friends get ‘more’ than me here. Besides, life is not just about Indonesia. If the country is not ‘nice’ to your degrees, you can still live in others (IMHO, I love Indonesia, but doesn’t mean I have to live here)

    Just wanna add, higher degree will give you more options : Lecturer and researcher, for example. I think the jobs will give you chance to have flexible time for the family, while it’s a bit challenging for working-in-the-tight-schedule mother. Those earn not-so-satisfied income? Yes, of course, but you can earn another thing: flexible hours. After all, all choice have their consequencies.

    That’s fine if you don’t like what others are really into. People are unique and they have different things which make their adrenalin pumped up. Some like working and working, and the others like studying and studying. Some like knowledge from university of life and company, some like knowledge from campus. Both are knowledge, but they are not the same. For me, one is not the second to another, they are both important.

    What I can say, if I really want to do something, I will do it right away. If I have to find many reasons to do it, it means I don’t really really like it. Come to think of it, what others think may not always applicable to me.

    Just my two pence, it is not a counter attack, just a piece of sharing. Peace…:)

    • inspired by my email…)…*GR Mode:ON*…

      iya banget… hehehe…

      life is not just about Indonesia

      yup… uni… setuju banget…

      That’s fine if you don’t like what others are really into. People are unique and they have different things which make their adrenalin pumped up. Some like working and working, and the others like studying and studying. Some like knowledge from university of life and company, some like knowledge from campus. Both are knowledge, but they are not the same. For me, one is not the second to another, they are both important.

      setuju juga…hehehe… both are the same… they are importance. but when i choose one of em… it doesnt lead me to take Master or Overseas Univ as the answer. but when they come together… hehehe… Master and Overseas Univ simply answer them.

      I will do it right away

      hahaha… maybe it’s because i’m a thinker… hahahaha… now! you find my now-i-am charachter, uni.
      if i really want to do something, i will think deeply on why, what for, the risk, the advantages, -the niah, the soul- what based me to take the which decision. even sometimes for days or months. collect info… find the best way i could get.
      but maybe you were rite. i should not think. just do it rite a way. haha… it’s a dare challenge…

      anyway… thanks for the email… the not-counter-attack comment, the just-a-piece-of-sharing. it really does mean to me alot… hahaha… by buying the comments and discussion i’m having new thoughts, new vision… hahaha…yay!

Leave a Reply

